2006-2007 ANNUAL REPORT STANDING COMMITTEE ON AWARDS STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN

Committee Name: Standing Committee on Awards

Jurisdictional Statement:

Shall recommend to the Board of Commissioners recipients qualified to receive awards made to attorneys in the name of the State Bar of Michigan, to recommend recipients of the annual Liberty Bell Award made to non-attorneys, and to recommend the establishment of new awards or to abolish existing awards.

Officers and Membership:

Co-Chairpersons: Ronald Keefe, President-elect of SBM

Francine Cullari, SBM Commissioner

Members: John M. Barr, James S. Brady, Thomas W. Cranmer, Kathryn M.

Day, Nancy J. Diehl, Elias J. Escobedo, Jr., Nino E. Green, Calvin A. Luker, Roshunda L. Price, Hon. Victoria A. Roberts, Curtis W.

Smith

Associate Members: none

2005-06 Meeting Schedule (date and location):

January 18, 2007 Teleconference to introduce new members and review process

April 19, 2007 Teleconference and electronic exchange of information to add nominees to

categories

May 17, 2007 SBM Lansing with some members via teleconference

Committee Activities:

The committee makes recommendations to the Board of Commissioners for the Roberts P. Hudson, Frank J. Kelley, Champion of Justice, and Liberty Bell Awards. In January, the committee introduced new members, and reviewed the committee mission, policies, procedures, and awards criteria for the Hudson, Kelley, Champion and Liberty Bell awards. The group also set the deadline for nominations and arranged for announcements in the Bar Journal and SBM electronic media (e-journal, SBM newsletter, e-mail), direct mail to local and specialty bars, and press releases.

From January through April, various committee members solicited nominations from local and specialty bars and past SBM presidents. In February and March, members and staff contacted certain individuals and organizations to promote additional nominations. In April, the committee preliminarily reviewed a package from staff with all nomination materials for nominees and the nominee matrix, noted which nominees have won other SBM awards, and discussed adding nominees to additional award categories. Having received a manageable number of nominations, the committee decided there was no need to narrow the field by preliminary e-mail voting this year.

Prior to the May meeting, the co-chairperson and staff developed a voting procedure for the inperson meeting. (Last year, the electronic voting procedure was developed for pre-eliminations, not used this year.) At the May meeting, the committee reviewed the procedure, conducted a detailed review of nominees, and voted to make recommendations to the Board of Directors for the four awards. The committee made no recommendations this year to the Board regarding criteria, new awards, or the elimination of awards.

Resources Provided by the State Bar of Michigan in Support of Committee Work:

Excellent staff support to write/distribute the press release, announcements and Awards brochure; attend committee meetings, send notices, arrange teleconferencing; solicit nominations; prepare nominations book, voting procedure for in-person meeting with co-chairperson, report to Board, congratulatory letters to winners; prepare/distribute announcements of winners, order awards, write scripts and speech for president at the Awards ceremony.

Future Goals and Activities:

The committee will annually review awards criteria, procedures, voting procedures, etc. for continuous improvement. It will also discuss if any new awards should be recommended to the Board or if any existing awards should be eliminated.

Co-Chair Contact Information:

Ronald D. Keefe Kendricks Bordeau Adamini Chilman & Greenlee PC 128 W Spring St Marquette, MI 49855

Telephone: 906.226.2543 Facsimile: 906.226.2819

E-mail: keefer@kendrickslaw.com

Francine Cullari
Attorney at Law
8341 Office Park Drive, Suite C
Grand Blanc, Michigan 48439-2077
Telephone: 810.695.7400
Facsimile: 810.695.7499

E-mail: <u>cullarilaw@sbcglobal.net</u>

Prepared by: Francine Cullari

Staff liaisons: Nancy Brown and Naseem Stecker