State Bar of Michigan
home member area contact us

SBM general information

 print this page

for members
SBM general information

member directory

admissions, ethics, and

diversity & inclusion

justice initiatives

member services

practice management
   resource center

public policy resource

publications and

research and links

sections & committees

ethics for members
ethics developments
ethics opinions
TAON (trust accounts)

from the courts
opinion searching
virtual court

for the public
public resources
media resources

giving opportunities
a lawyer helps
access to justice

2014-2015 Committee List

Executive Committee

    Jurisdiction: Shall review, monitor, and make recommendations regarding current programs and committee work for consistency with current strategic planning goals, and plan for the development of future strategic planning goals; review budget for consistency with the State Bar of Michigan strategic plan; and review and formulate recommendations to the Board of Commissioners with respect to all matters pertaining to structure and governance, and proposed changes to court rules. Committee oversight: Law School Deans; Past Presidents Advisory Council

    Chair: Thomas C. Rombach


    1. Dennis M. Barnes
    2. Robert J. Buchanan
    3. Lori A. Buiteweg
    4. Jennifer M. Grieco
    5. Lawrence P. Nolan
    6. Daniel D. Quick
    7. Hon. Michael J. Riordan
    8. Donald G. Rockwell
    9. Vanessa Peterson Williams

    Staff liaison: Janet Welch

Audit Committee

    Jurisdiction: Shall recommend independent auditors, approve the annual audit, meet with the auditors to discuss audit findings, and review and approve the criteria for and aggregate amount of any staff bonuses before they are awarded.

    Chair: Jennifer M. Grieco


    1. Timothy J. Burns
    2. Robert C. Gardella
    3. Roshunda L. Price
    4. Victoria A. Radke

    Staff liaison: James C. Horsch

Finance Committee

    Jurisdiction: Shall oversee fiscal policy, ensure internal accounting controls, monitor expenses and revenues, monitor the annual outside audit for presentation to the Board of Commissioners, monitor cash reserves and investments, and make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners on finance, budget, investments, and risk management, and insurance policies.

    Chair: Jennifer M. Grieco


    1. Robert J. Buchanan
    2. Edward L. Haroutunian
    3. Fred K. Herrmann
    4. Mark W. Jane
    5. Hon. Maureen M. McGinnis
    6. *Roshunda L. Price
    7. Hon. Michael J. Riordan
    8. Gregory L. Ulrich

    * Non-Board Member

    Staff liaison: James Horsch

Professional Standards Committee

    Jurisdiction: Shall review and formulate recommendations to the Board of Commissioners regarding character and fitness, the client protection fund, ethics, and the unauthorized practice of law, including multidisciplinary and multi-jurisdictional practice; develop nominations to committees, and recruitment of candidates for Board of Commissioner and Representative Assembly positions. Committee oversight: Character and Fitness; Client Protection Fund; Judicial Ethics; Judicial Qualifications; Lawyers and Judges Assistance; Professional Ethics; Unauthorized Practice of Law

    Chair: Donald G. Rockwell


    1. Dennis M. Barnes
    2. Danielle M. Brown
    3. James W. Heath
    4. C. Thomas Ludden
    5. E. Thomas McCarthy Jr.
    6. Richard J. Siriani
    7. Vanessa Peterson Williams

    Staff liaison: Danon Goodrum-Garland

Programs and Services Committee

Public Policy, Image, and Identity Committee

    Jurisdiction: Shall review and formulate recommendations to the Board of Commissioners on SBM public policy positions on proposed or pending legislation and court rules and other matters of public policy; coordinate and make recommendations regarding the Bar's relationship with external entities; and oversee the State Bar communication policies, both external and internal. Committee oversight: American Indian Law; Civil Procedure and Courts; Criminal Jurisprudence and Practice; Diversity & Inclusion Advisory; Domestic Violence; Justice Initiatives; United States Courts

    Chair: Lori A. Buiteweg


    1. Timothy J. Burns
    2. Shauna L. Dunnings
    3. *Kim Warren Eddie
    4. Stephen J. Gobbo
    5. E. Christopher Johnson Jr.
    6. *Richard D. McLellan
    7. Jules B. Olsman
    8. Colleen A. Pero
    9. Daniel D. Quick
    10. *Hon. Cynthia D. Stephens

    * Non-Board Member

    Staff liaisons: Peter Cunningham and Janet Welch



follow us
Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on LinkedIn Follow Us on Twitter Follow the SBM Blog


©Copyright 2015

website links
Contact Us
Site Map
Website Privacy Statement PDF
Staff Links

SBM on the Mapcontact information
State Bar of Michigan
306 Townsend St
Lansing, MI 48933-2012
Phone: (517) 346-6300
Toll Free: (800) 968-1442
Fax: (517) 482-6248