STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MEETING MINUTES

President Quick called the meeting to order at 11:17 a.m. on Friday September 21, 2023, in the Dennison Room of the Detroit Marriott Troy.

<u>Commissioners present</u>: Yolanda M. Bennett Erika L. Bryant, Secretary Aaron V. Burrell Hon. B. Chris Christenson Tanya N. Cripps-Serra Sherriee L. Detzler Robert A. Easterly Hon. Kameshia D. Gant Thomas H. Howlett, Treasurer Suzanne C. Larsen Joshua A. Lerner James W. Low Silvia A. Mansoor Gerard V. Mantese

<u>Commissioners absent</u>: David C. Anderson Ponce D. Clay

<u>Guests</u>

Nicole A. Evans, Representative Assembly member David Watson, Executive Director, ICLE

State Bar staff present: Peter Cunningham, Executive Director Scott Atkinson, Communications Specialist Drew Baker, General Counsel Margaret Bossenbery, Executive Coordinator Sarah Brown, Brand Designer Gregory Convers, Program Director, Diversity Development Program Darin Day, Program Director, Outreach Katherine Gardner, Unauthorized Practice of Law Counsel Tatiana Goodkin, Chief Financial Officer Lynn Ingram, Legal Editor & Publications Development Manager Robert Mathis, Pro Bono Services & Justice Initiatives Counsel

Gerrow D. "Gerry" Mason Joseph P. McGill, President-Elect Thomas P. Murray Jr. Valerie R. Newman Takura N. Nyamfukudza Nicholas M. Ohanesian Hon. David A. Perkins Daniel D. Quick, President Colemon L. Potts Delphia T. Simpson John W. Reiser III Matthew B. VanDyk Danielle Walton Hon. Erane C. Washington

Lisa. J. Hamameh, Vice President Hon. Kristen D. Simmons

Molly Ranns, Director, Lawyers & Judges Assistance Program Kristin Sewell, Program Director, Research & Development Janna Sheppard, Administrative Assistant Jeanette Socia, Director of Human Resources Marjory Raymer, Director of Communications Kari Thrush, Program Director, Lawyer Services Nathan Triplett, Director, Governmental Relations Anne Vrooman, Program Director, Research & Development Meng Xiong, IT Director 2023 - 2024 Board of Commissioners September 21, 2023, meeting minutes Page **2** of **2**

President's Report

Mr. Quick welcomed and introduced the new Board members.

Mr. Quick administered the oath of office to the commissioners.

Authorize President to Appoint an Executive Committee

Mr. Quick asked for a motion to approve the appointment of the Executive Committee. A motion was offered, seconded, and approved.

2023-2024 Commissioner Committee Appointments

Mr. Quick stated that the Commissioner committee appointments were in each of their packets.

2023-2024 Commissioner Section Liaison Appointments

Mr. Quick stated that the Commissioner Section Liaison appointments were in each of their packets.

Fiscal Matters

Ms. Bossenbery stated that information about Nexonia was in their packets and explained the process to submit expense reimbursements to the commissioners. Everyone should submit their expenses for FY23 by September 30, 2023. If any commissioner wishes to donate their mileage to ATJ, please contact Ms. Bossenbery.

Board Member Information Forms

The Board received the forms to complete for the Pictorial Directory and were asked to return them to Ms. Bossenbery once they were completed.

2023-2024 Board of Commissioners and Representative Assembly Meeting Dates

The Board received the dates for the 2023-2024 Board of Commissioners and Representative Assembly meetings. Mr. Quick stated that he planned to have all the board meetings in-person and that except for the officers, it was not mandatory that commissioners attend the RA meetings.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 11:28 a.m.